The Regional Arts Commission Announces



 The Regional Arts Commission (RAC) has awarded ten fellowships totaling $200,000 to 10 local artists as part of its annual round of Artist Fellowships. This initiative was created based on results of the RAC sponsored Artists Count survey conducted in 2012, the largest survey of its kind in the United States. The survey was funded by The Kresge Foundation. It indicated that the most pressing need of regional artists was financial support in order to pursue their art and their careers.

This year marks the third year RAC has offered the RAC Artist Fellowships. Each year, 10 artists, living and working in St. Louis are awarded a $20,000 fellowship, which is a financial investment in the careers of the selected artists. The funds will allow for the advancement of the individual artist’s creative journey to include time and space to study, reflect, experiment, explore and create. These award amounts are not grants in the traditional sense but “fellowships” in terms of a financial endowment or investment in the careers of St. Louis artists. The RAC Artist Fellowships are among the few of known multi-disciplinary fellowship of its kind in the United States.

“Artists are absolutely essential to the cultural and economic vibrancy of this region. We recognize the critical importance to support our local artists in a way that allows them to create and grow professionally. Our commitment to directly support diverse artists is inherent in RAC’s vision to transform St. Louis into a more creative and economically thriving community,” said Felicia Shaw, executive director of RAC.

The recipients, representing the disciplines of dance, visual arts, theater, music, literature, and media arts, were selected from among 235 applicants after being reviewed by RAC Commissioners, a community advisory committee, 30 expert readers, and staff.  A complete list of the artists and their bios is at:


The 10 RAC Artist Fellowship Recipients

Diádié Bathily – Dance

Cbabi Bayoc – Visual Arts

Dwayne Bosman – Music

Meghan Grubb – Visual Arts

Dawn Karlovsky – Dance

Christopher Limber – Theatre Arts

Travis Mossotti – Literature

Jeffrey Noonan – Music

Megan Singleton – Visual Arts/Craft & Traditional Arts

Denise Ward-Brown – Visual Arts/Media Arts


If you have any questions about the Artist Fellowships, please contact Roseann Weiss, Director of Artist and Community Initiatives, at roseann@stlrac.org or 314-863-5811.


About the Regional Arts Commission www.racstl.org

The Regional Arts Commission (RAC) is at the forefront of efforts to transform St. Louis into a more vibrant, creative and economically thriving community by elevating the vitality, value and visibility of the arts. It is the largest annual funder of the arts in the region, and since its inception in 1985, RAC has awarded more than 6,700 grants totaling over $93 million to support nonprofit arts, individual artists, cultural organizations, consortiums and programs. Directed by a board of 15 commissioners appointed by the chief executives of St. Louis City and St. Louis County, RAC is a pivotal force in the continuing development and marketing of the arts in the region. Visit www.racstl.org for more information, or follow us on Facebook at Regional Arts Commission or Twitter @RACStLouis.



Share This: