fbpx

Awarded Grants

Annually, the Regional Arts Commission (RAC) provides approximately $4.1 million in financial support for both non-profit organizations and individual artists in St. Louis City and County. RAC supports non-profit organizations and individual artists through four core grants programs: Program Support, General Operating Support (GOS), Artist Support and Artist Fellowships.

Thus far in 2019, RAC has awarded $4.2 million in financial support for Program Support, Artist Support, Artist Fellowships, and General Operating Support grants.

All organization grant requests are reviewed and discussed for evaluation and assessment in an open, public forum by Citizen Review Panelists. RAC implements a multi-step process that awards funding to arts and culture organizations and non-arts, nonprofit organizations that demonstrate strong organizational capacity, the greatest community benefit and advance the quality and diversity of arts programming in our region. The review criteria of artistic merit and quality of programs, community benefit, and organizational capacity provide a framework by which all RAC grant applications are evaluated.

Individual artist grant requests are read and reviewed by Discipline Readers and Citizen Review Panelists. All individual artist grants are reviewed based on a set of review criteria, specific to either Artist Fellowships or Artist Support grants.

Grant totals and recipients are listed below.

Program Support Grants

RAC awarded a total of $978,400 to 111 organizations in Program Support grants this year.

Program Support grants provide funding to nonprofit arts and culture organizations and non-arts, nonprofit organizations for programming that broadens participation and increases access to the arts.

Artist Support Grants

In 2019, RAC awarded 37 Artist Support grants, which fund career advancement for individual artists in all artistic disciplines, totaling $97,677.

Artist Support Grants are designed to encourage creativity, innovation, entrepreneurship, and sustained commitment to artistic work by providing funds for an artist’s projects, needs, and creative opportunities.

Artist Fellowships

RAC selected ten local artists to receive the Artist Fellowship and awarded a total of $200,000 in funding this year.

The Artist Fellowship recognizes artistic excellence and honors the work of seasoned artists, advance the work of mid-career artists, and nurture the work of developing artists.

General Operating Support Grants

Forty local nonprofit arts organizations received a combined $3 million from RAC in the form of GOS grants to support artistic activities that engage the diversity of residents in St. Louis.

To be eligible for a GOS grant, an organization must have been a previous recipient of RAC’s Program Support grants, be an arts and culture mission-based organization, employ at least one permanent full-time employee, and have an annual operating budget of at least $150,000.

 

Search

Artist Support

Awardee Discipline Amount Organization URL Year
Joshua Barton Literature $3,000.00 http://www.thequeerimagination.tumblr.com 2016
Katherine Reynolds Visual Arts $3,000.00 http://theunsuspended.com 2016
Keith Deisner Music $3,000.00 https://www.facebook.com/keith.deisner 2016
Leo Q. Davis Music $2,717.00 http://leoqdavisarts.wixsite.com/leoqdavis 2016
Lola Ogbara Visual Arts $2,100.00 http://www.lolaogbara.com 2016
Mark Witzling Visual Arts $3,000.00 http://www.markwitzlingart.com 2016
Razine Wenneker Craft & Traditional Arts $1,000.00 http://www.midwest-metalsmiths.org 2016
Robert E. Green Visual Arts $3,000.00 2016
Sage Dawson Visual Arts $925.00 http://www.sagedawson.com 2016
Shane Seely Literature $1,856.00 http://www.shaneseely.com 2016
Sukanya Mani Visual Arts $3,000.00 http://www.sukanyamani.com/ 2016
Terry Artis Media Arts $1,538.00 http://phatassdrummer.com 2016
Tracy Mitchell Music $1,500.00 2016
Tre’von Griffith Music $1,500.00 http://tregmusic.com 2016
Vivian E. Watt Dance $2,138.00 2016

Artist Fellowship

Awardee Discipline Amount Organization URL Year
Cbabi Bayoc Visual Arts $20,000.00 http://www.cbabibayoc.com 2015
Christopher Limber Theatre Arts $20,000.00 https://www.christopherlimber.com/ 2015
Dawn Karlovsky Dance $20,000.00 http://www.karlovskydance.org 2015
Denise Ward-Brown Visual Arts $20,000.00 http://www.hectv.org/watch/hec-tv-live/history-in-the-first-person-living-under-jim-crow-laws/14032/ 2015
Diadie Bathily Dance $20,000.00 http://www.afrikylolo.org 2015

Sorry, but nothing matched your search terms. Please try again with some different keywords.