fbpx

Awarded Grants

Annually, the Regional Arts Commission (RAC) provides approximately $4.1 million in financial support for both non-profit organizations and individual artists in St. Louis City and County. RAC supports non-profit organizations and individual artists through four core grants programs: Program Support, General Operating Support (GOS), Artist Support and Artist Fellowships.

Thus far in 2019, RAC has awarded $4.2 million in financial support for Program Support, Artist Support, Artist Fellowships, and General Operating Support grants.

All organization grant requests are reviewed and discussed for evaluation and assessment in an open, public forum by Citizen Review Panelists. RAC implements a multi-step process that awards funding to arts and culture organizations and non-arts, nonprofit organizations that demonstrate strong organizational capacity, the greatest community benefit and advance the quality and diversity of arts programming in our region. The review criteria of artistic merit and quality of programs, community benefit, and organizational capacity provide a framework by which all RAC grant applications are evaluated.

Individual artist grant requests are read and reviewed by Discipline Readers and Citizen Review Panelists. All individual artist grants are reviewed based on a set of review criteria, specific to either Artist Fellowships or Artist Support grants.

Grant totals and recipients are listed below.

Program Support Grants

RAC awarded a total of $978,400 to 111 organizations in Program Support grants this year.

Program Support grants provide funding to nonprofit arts and culture organizations and non-arts, nonprofit organizations for programming that broadens participation and increases access to the arts.

Artist Support Grants

In 2019, RAC awarded 37 Artist Support grants, which fund career advancement for individual artists in all artistic disciplines, totaling $97,677.

Artist Support Grants are designed to encourage creativity, innovation, entrepreneurship, and sustained commitment to artistic work by providing funds for an artist’s projects, needs, and creative opportunities.

Artist Fellowships

RAC selected ten local artists to receive the Artist Fellowship and awarded a total of $200,000 in funding this year.

The Artist Fellowship recognizes artistic excellence and honors the work of seasoned artists, advance the work of mid-career artists, and nurture the work of developing artists.

General Operating Support Grants

Forty local nonprofit arts organizations received a combined $3 million from RAC in the form of GOS grants to support artistic activities that engage the diversity of residents in St. Louis.

To be eligible for a GOS grant, an organization must have been a previous recipient of RAC’s Program Support grants, be an arts and culture mission-based organization, employ at least one permanent full-time employee, and have an annual operating budget of at least $150,000.

 

Search

Artist Fellowship

Awardee Discipline Amount Organization URL Year
Dwayne D. Bosman Music $20,000.00 http://www.thebosmantwins.com/thinkjazz/ 2015
Jeffrey Noonan Music $20,000.00 2015
Megan Marie Singleton Visual Arts $20,000.00 http://www.megansingleton.com 2015
Meghan Grubb Visual Arts $20,000.00 http://www.meghangrubb.com 2015
Travis Mossotti Literature $20,000.00 http://www.travismossotti.com 2015
Carlie Trosclair Visual Arts $20,000.00 http://www.carlietrosclair.com 2014
Cayce Zavaglia Visual Arts $20,000.00 http://www.caycezavaglia.com 2014
Fannie Belle Lebby Theatre Arts $20,000.00 2014
Fred Onovwerosuoke Music $20,000.00 http://www.fredomusic.com 2014
Jessica Baran Literature $20,000.00 http://jessicabaran.com 2014
Keith Tyrone Williams Dance $20,000.00 2014
Mary Sprague Visual Arts $20,000.00 http://www.marysprague.com 2014
Saher Alam Literature $20,000.00 2014
Sarah Paulsen Visual Arts $20,000.00 http://www.sarahpaulsen.com 2014
Zlatko Cosic Media Arts $20,000.00 http://www.zlatkocosic.com 2014
Alice Bloch Dance $20,000.00 2013
Arny Nadler Visual Arts $20,000.00 http://www.arnynadler.com 2013
Deanna Jent Theatre Arts $20,000.00 2013
Juan William Chavez Visual Arts $20,000.00 http://juanwilliamchavez.com/home.html 2013
Kathryn Bentley Theatre Arts $20,000.00 2013

Sorry, but nothing matched your search terms. Please try again with some different keywords.