fbpx

Awarded Grants

The Regional Arts Commission (RAC) provides financial support for both non-profit organizations and individual artists in St. Louis City and County. RAC supports non-profit organizations and individual artists through four core grants programs: Program Support, General Operating Support (GOS), Artist Support, and Artist Fellowships.

In 2019, RAC awarded $4.2 million in financial support for Program Support, Artist Support, Artist Fellowships, and General Operating Support.

All organization grant requests are evaluated in an open, public forum. RAC implements a multi-step process that awards funding to nonprofit organizations that demonstrate strong organizational capacity, community benefit, and advance the quality and diversity of arts programming in our region.

All individual artist grants are reviewed based on a set of review criteria, specific to either Artist Fellowships or Artist Support Grants.

Program Support Grants

In 2020, RAC awarded 74 organizations Program Support grants.

Program Support Grants provide funding to nonprofit organizations for programming that broadens participation and increases access to the arts.

Artist Support Grants

In 2020, RAC awarded 21 Artist Support Grants, which fund career advancement for individual artists in all artistic disciplines, totaling over $53,000.

Artist Support Grants are designed to encourage creativity, innovation, entrepreneurship, and sustained commitment to artistic work by providing funds for an artist’s projects, needs, and creative opportunities.

Artist Fellowships

RAC selected ten local artists to receive the Artist Fellowship and awarded a total of $200,000 in funding this year.

The Artist Fellowship recognizes artistic excellence and honors the work of seasoned artists, advance the work of mid-career artists, and nurture the work of developing artists.

General Operating Support Grants

RAC awarded 40 local nonprofit arts organizations General Operating Support Grants to support artistic activities that engage the diversity of residents in St. Louis. These grants are two-year grants awarded in 2019.

To be eligible for a GOS grant, an organization must have been a previous recipient of RAC’s Program Support Grants, be an arts and culture mission-based organization, employ at least one permanent full-time employee, and have an annual operating budget of at least $150,000.

*Due to the uncertainty caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, 2020/2021 Program Support and General Operating Support grants amounts are not yet determined. Please check back in early 2021 for updated information.

 

Search

Artist Fellowship

Awardee Discipline Amount Organization URL Year
Carlie Trosclair Visual Artss 20,000 http://www.carlietrosclair.com 2014
Cayce Zavaglia Visual Artss 20,000 http://www.caycezavaglia.com 2014
Fannie Belle Lebby Theatre Arts 20,000 2014
Fred Onovwerosuoke Music 20,000 http://www.fredomusic.com 2014
Jessica Baran Literature 20,000 http://jessicabaran.com 2014
Keith Tyrone Williams Dance 20,000 2014
Mary Sprague Visual Artss 20,000 http://www.marysprague.com 2014
Saher Alam Literature 20,000 2014
Sarah Paulsen Visual Artss 20,000 http://www.sarahpaulsen.com 2014
Zlatko Cosic Media Arts 20,000 http://www.zlatkocosic.com 2014
Alice Bloch Dance 20,000 2013
Arny Nadler Visual Artss 20,000 http://www.arnynadler.com 2013
Deanna Jent Theatre Arts 20,000 2013
Juan William Chavez Visual Artss 20,000 http://juanwilliamchavez.com/home.html 2013
Kathryn Bentley Theatre Arts 20,000 2013
Peter Martin Music 20,000 http://petermartinmusic.com 2013
Philip Boehm Literature 20,000 http://upstreamtheater.org 2013
Richard Newman Literature 20,000 2013
Stan Chisholm Visual Artss 20,000 http://18andcounting.com 2013
Van Mcelwee Media Arts 20,000 http://vanmcelwee.com 2013

Sorry, but nothing matched your search terms. Please try again with some different keywords.