fbpx

Awarded Grants

The Regional Arts Commission (RAC) provides financial support for both non-profit organizations and individual artists in St. Louis City and County. RAC supports non-profit organizations and individual artists through four core grants programs: Program Support, General Operating Support (GOS), Artist Support, and Artist Fellowships.

In 2019, RAC awarded $4.2 million in financial support for Program Support, Artist Support, Artist Fellowships, and General Operating Support.

All organization grant requests are evaluated in an open, public forum. RAC implements a multi-step process that awards funding to nonprofit organizations that demonstrate strong organizational capacity, community benefit, and advance the quality and diversity of arts programming in our region.

All individual artist grants are reviewed based on a set of review criteria, specific to either Artist Fellowships or Artist Support Grants.

Program Support Grants

In 2020, RAC awarded 74 organizations Program Support grants.

Program Support Grants provide funding to nonprofit organizations for programming that broadens participation and increases access to the arts.

Artist Support Grants

In 2020, RAC awarded 21 Artist Support Grants, which fund career advancement for individual artists in all artistic disciplines, totaling over $53,000.

Artist Support Grants are designed to encourage creativity, innovation, entrepreneurship, and sustained commitment to artistic work by providing funds for an artist’s projects, needs, and creative opportunities.

Artist Fellowships

RAC selected ten local artists to receive the Artist Fellowship and awarded a total of $200,000 in funding this year.

The Artist Fellowship recognizes artistic excellence and honors the work of seasoned artists, advance the work of mid-career artists, and nurture the work of developing artists.

General Operating Support Grants

RAC awarded 40 local nonprofit arts organizations General Operating Support Grants to support artistic activities that engage the diversity of residents in St. Louis. These grants are two-year grants awarded in 2019.

To be eligible for a GOS grant, an organization must have been a previous recipient of RAC’s Program Support Grants, be an arts and culture mission-based organization, employ at least one permanent full-time employee, and have an annual operating budget of at least $150,000.

*Due to the uncertainty caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, 2020/2021 Program Support and General Operating Support grants amounts are not yet determined. Please check back in early 2021 for updated information.

 

Search

Artist Fellowship

Awardee Discipline Amount Organization URL Year
Asha Prem Dance 20,000 http://dancesofindiastlouis.org/ 2020
Basil Kincaid Visual Arts 20,000 https://www.basilkincaid.com/ 2020
Eimear Arkins Music 20,000 https://www.eimeararkins.com/ 2020
Jennifer Colten Visual Arts 20,000 https://www.jennifercolten.com/ 2020
Kea Wilson Literature 20,000 https://www.keawilson.com/ 2020
Kevin McCoy Visual Arts 20,000 https://www.w-o-r-k-p-l-a-y.com/ 2020
Monica Newsam Dance 20,000 https://www.newsamaerialdance.com/ 2020
Norleen Nosri Crafts & Traditional Arts 20,000 https://nosri.com/ 2020
Paul Tran Literature 20,000 https://iampaultran.com/ 2020
Shualee Cook Theatre Arts 20,000 https://shualeecook.com/ 2020

Artist Support

Awardee Discipline Amount Organization URL Year
Allana Ross Visual Art 3,000 http://www.allanaross.com 2020
Arny Nadler Visual Art 1,821 http://arnynadler.com 2020
Ben Reece Music 3,000 http://www.benreece.bandcamp.com 2020
Bobby Norfolk Theatre Arts 2,000 http://www.bobbynorfolk.com
https://www.facebook.com/BobbyNorfolk1/
2020
Bwayne Smotherson Music 3,000 https://www.facebook.com/bwayne.smotherson 2020
Chris Renteria Media Arts 2,000 https://vimeo.com/mooshidofilms 2020
Christopher Phillips Media Arts 2,000 http://www.maverickmediagroup.net 2020
David Werfelmann Music 3,000 https://www.davidwerfelmann.com 2020
Diadie Bathily Dance 3,000 https://afrikylolo.org/ 2020
Graham Lane Visual Art 3,000 http://grahamlane.com 2020

Sorry, but nothing matched your search terms. Please try again with some different keywords.